A good ol’ fashioned seminar tour

I’m in Oslo at the moment, on the first leg of my World Tour Of Physics Departments. My supervisor, Pedro, is keen on sending his students out to give talks as they near the final year of their PhD, and it’s increasingly the “done thing” in the US when postdoc application season comes around too, apparently. As far as I’m concerned, it’s an opportunity to meet lots of interesting people and promote/develop my research, so the “job tour” concept gets two thumbs up from me. I’ll be in Helsinki and Geneva next week, followed by Lyon and Heidelberg the week after. I’ll also be visiting Johns Hopkins, Pittsburgh, Princeton, Stanford, Berkeley, and finally Bielefeld in late October/early November. Following that, I’ll probably have to wander off to plant a few trees and apologise to Mother Earth for my carbon footprint.

As for Oslo, I’ve spent the last few days working with my (spectacularly generous) host, Hans Kristian Eriksen, and others on a soon-to-be-published paper on the Sunyaev-Zel’dovich Effect. Watch this space. I gave my seminar talk today (it was about the acceleration stuff I did with Tim Clifton), and I’ve also had a number of interesting discussions with Cython magician Dag Sverre Seljebotn about a possible rewrite of Hans Kristian’s Commander CMB analysis code. But most importantly: I saw a moose at the weekend. Mission accomplished, that’s what I say.

About Phil Bull

I'm a theoretical cosmologist, currently working as a NASA NPP fellow at JPL/Caltech in Pasadena, CA. My research focuses on the effects of inhomogeneities on the evolution of the Universe and how we measure it. I'm also keen on stochastic processes, scientific computing, the philosophy of science, and open source stuff. View all posts by Phil Bull

Leave a Reply

